© 2019 Catholic Record Society


Many people give of their time, expertise, and experience to ensure the smooth-running of the Society's business and the fulfillment of its aims, purposes, and charitable obligations by serving on its various boards and committees. Its affairs are overseen by the CRS Council.


His Eminence the Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster

The Most Revd the Archbishop of Birmingham

The Most Revd the Archbishop of Cardiff

The Most Revd the Archbishop of Liverpool

The Most Revd the Archbishop of Southwark


The Rt Revd Mgr Nicholas Hudson, 
Auxiliary Bishop in the Archdiocese of Westminster


Lord Mark Fitzalan Howard OBE

Professor V. Alan McClelland

The Rt Revd Geoffrey Scott, OSB

Michael Hodgetts, Esq

Custodial Trustees

Dr Peter Doyle

Alexander Fitzalan Howard, Esq

Simon Jamieson, Esq

Mrs Judith Smeaton

Council 2019-2020

*Dr Paul Arblaster, Volumes Editor

Dr Jonathan Bush (2019)

Dr Peter Doyle (2017)

Fr Stewart Foster (2018)

*Dr Katy Gibbons, Journal Editor

Fr Peter Harris (2018)

*Dr Serenhedd James, Secretary

Dr Carmen Mangion (2019)

Dr Peter Nockles (2017)

*Dr Susan O’Brien, Membership Secretary

*Patrick Powell, Esq, Treasurer

Professor Bill Sheils, Chair (2017)

Mrs Judith Smeaton

*Dr Hannah Thomas, Conference Director

​*Honorary Officer

British Catholic History Editorial Board

Dr Katy Gibbons, Editor

Dr Liesbeth Corens, Reviews Editor

Dr Colin Barr

Professor Peter Davidson

Dr Anne Dillon

Dr Alana Harris

Professor Mary Heimann

Professor Arthur Marotti

Professor Peter Marshall

Professor Susannah Monta

Professor Michael Questier

Professor Salvador Ryan

Professor Alison Shell

Professor Stefania Tutino

Professor Alexandra Walsham

Publications Committee

Dr Paul Arblaster, Chair

Dr Caroline Bowden
Dr Peter Doyle
Michael Hodgetts, Esq
Professor V. Alan McClelland

Awards Committee

Professor Bill Sheils, Chair

Dr Susan O'Brien

Professor Alison Shell

Archives Committee

Mrs Judith Smeaton, Chair

Dr Jonathan Bush

Mrs Margaret Harcourt Williams

Dr Hannah Thomas